The Third Annual Queens Day Concert for the Dutch Reformed Church restoration took place on Sunday, April 10, featuring the music of Sara Davis Buechner.

This event was made possible through generous support of the Netherland-America Foundation, dedicated to maintaining ties of friendship between the Netherlands and the United States. Talent coordination provided by Wanda Fleck, director of the Brooklyn Friends of Chamber Music.

"The greatest performance of Rhapsody in Blue I have ever heard."
— Deseret News

"The greatest recording of Mozart's piano music ever made!"
— InTune magazine

• Ms. Buechner's recording of piano music by George Gershwin was selected as a Record of the Month by Stereophile magazine.
1997 première recording of Busoni's version of Bach's Goldberg Variations profiled in Arts & Leisure section, New York Times.
CD of piano concertos by Bernard Herrmann and Franz Waxman won Germany's Deutsches Schauplatten Preis.
CD of the complete piano music of Stephen Foster released by Pro Piano.
Fourth recording for Koch International features piano music by Rudolf Friml.

  Sara Davis Buechner is a dazzling pianist and witty speaker, with a gregarious personality that leaps from the stage. In informal concerts she has been known to talk about everything from cartoons to baseball to Japanese kabuki to connect with her audience on an intimate level and make her music a personal and enchanting experience for everyone.

Sara Davis Buechner
  For the Queen's Day concert, Ms. Buechner presented the following program

• Prelude & Fugue In B-minor by J.S. Bach
• Sonata in F-major by Mozart
• Three Spanish Dances by Turina
• "Ragamuffin" & "Frapperette" by Jess Greer (1896-1970)

After the intermission, she continued with a selection of compositions by George Gershwin (1989-1937):

• Sweet and Low Down
• Someone to Watch Over Me
• Do-Do-Do
• Rhapsody in Blue

All who attended agreed that Ms. Buechner's performance was thrilling and revelatory. "I've heard 'Rhapsody in Blue' dozens of times," commented one concertgoer, "but after hearing Sara play it, I feel that I never listen to it before."

A classical pianist whose repertoire includes nearly a hundred concertos, Sara Buechner has played with prominent orchestras throughout the Americas, Europe and Asia. Winner of numerous prestigious awards, she has made several acclaimed recordings. She also performs piano scores to silent movies, notably the 150-minute Ben-Hur (1925) and Carl Dreyer's 1927 "Master of the House" — her musical score is on the DVD soon to be released by Criterion. Formerly on the faculty at New York University, Ms. Buechner currently teaches at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver.